Go with the flow

“When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.” RUMI

New Year’s Resolutions….. yes, it is that time again! A resolution is an intention – what do we intend for our life in the coming year? Setting an intention is the start of putting a plan in action. Planning is good – not a thing wrong with it – as long as we are not attached to the outcome. As we become more comfortable with ‘going with the flow’ and have less expectations, we increase the likelihood of learning something about ourselves as well as setting the stage to potentially be blessed with more than we could have imagined. Can you think of a time when you were certain you wanted a particular outcome and yet the outcome that occurred was far greater than what you could have thought was possible? Or the outcome offered a meaningful life lesson that was a turning point in your life. That is the beauty of trusting the universe and ‘going with the flow’.

One of my intentions for 2010 is to be a Writer – someone who writes! Just putting that out there is scary – I pass judgment upon myself and think “how dare I call myself a writer.” Then I think, all one has to do is write – I didn’t quantify that I would be a good writer or an exceptional writer, just that I will write. My plan is to write about observations of life – about myself, about others, about news stories (and if you know me, you will not be surprised to hear that it may include a thought or two about ‘famous’ people :-)). It is my intention to just ‘go with the flow’ and see what happens. Anything is possible!

This newly created blog will initially serve two purposes: 1) to motivate me to write often and 2) to continue my journey of self-discovery and the meaning of life. I want to share thoughts and articles that will hopefully encourage us to live with intention and reveal what truly feeds our soul – that part within us that seeks true joy. It is my goal to discover quotes, poems, articles, photographs, videos, etc. that inspire and seek to move us.

The title of the blog is – Living Life… Making Choices…. I think we sometimes overlook an important aspect of how we live our lives and that is making choices. Every day we make choices. We choose one thought over another, we choose one behavior over another, and we choose to take one path over another. Let’s start 2010 together – investigating various aspects of our lives, existing with awareness and taking responsibility for our choices. Remembering if a choice we make leads us to an outcome we were not expecting, gently reminding ourselves that we can choose to let go and allow ourselves to ‘go with the flow’.

Leave a Reply

