Numbers do not define us


#1 – Age:

I turned 51 the other day – I don’t feel 51 – wait a minute – I’ve never been 51 so I don’t know what the heck that is that suppose to feel like!  I recall as a teenager when someone was forty or fifty, they seemed really old.  Ha, ha…. perspective!  Here’s what I do know today – living life provides us with experiences and the opportunity to learn lessons and gain wisdom.  This feels very good at 51.

“As you grow in wisdom, you’ll learn to embrace and love others for who they are, looking for benefits they offer you knowing that they represent parts of you’ve buried or disowned.  Wisdom means thanking others for bringing to your awareness those areas, and for being grateful that they’ve given you this opportunity to love.”  Dr. John Demartini

# 2- Weight:

In 2007 I weighed 113 pounds.  I am 5’5” tall, so I have no business being 113 pounds. (I should be more like 128-135 – the range where I am currently).  One day, when I was way too thin, a student came into the yoga studio and said “I have not seen you for so long, you are so thin, you look great!”  The next day I was in Vermont visiting my friend, Kathy, who said “You look thin.  How do you feel?”  Perspective, eh?  One person – likely fixated on thin as a good thing and another person truly seeing her friend and expressing concern.


#3 – How much money we earn/have:

I know wealthy people who are not happy and I know people who have little money and live abundantly in many ways.

Whether rich or poor, people make choices about how they spend money, and those choices can boost happiness or undermine happiness. It’s a mistake to assume that money will affect everyone the same way.  ~ Gretchen Rubin, The Happiness Project

#4- Facebook:

Today I viewed my FB page (Living Life, Making Choices) and noticed I had over 700 ‘likes’.  I was very surprised because I recently recall having less than 400.  When I noticed the significant increase, thanks to Simple Steps, Real Change, I was surprised and pleased.  Then as I was thinking about this post I wondered –  why am I happy about that?  Is it because you like me, you really like me (think Sally Fields)?  When we are living our life, making choices that resonate for us – we should not focus on how many people ‘like’ us.  It’s not to say I do not appreciate every single person who ‘likes’ my page, I do.  I am so grateful to have the opportunity to reach people with  quotes and meaningful links that move me in the hopes it might also touch a chord in others, however, it is more important for me to stay grounded, be authentic and not get caught up in the ego.

See the link between your thinking and your emotions.  Rather than being your thoughts and emotions, be the awareness behind them.  ~Eckhart Tolle

Please let me know what you think and perhaps provide examples of other numbers that you think should not define us!  I appreciate your taking the time to read my blog and hope you ‘like’ it!

 

12 responses to “Numbers do not define us

  1. Great post–I’m working through so much of what you are talking about letting go of my dependence on other’s opinions, just being. Thanks for the perspective.

  2. I love the perspective of not focusing on numbers. I have been struggling with the big 50 birthday off and on the past few months. Your blog puts not only the birthday but the other numbers into a more realistic way of thinking. I got a text from my mom this morning wishing me a happy birthday and I sent her back a reply saying thankyou and asking her what she was doing 50 years ago today…..Her response: “Waking up to my mom coming to see her new grandaughter and daughter”. What a great memory and gift from my mom and then I read your blog and it hit, at 50 I am blessed with 50 years of wonderful memories and friends (new and old) and family. Thank you Maureen for the insight, I love the way you think!

    • That’s beautiful, Sheryl. I like how you brought in the piece about what your mom was doing 50 years ago! Glad we are connected on this journey of life and yoga – yoga and life — ha – one in the same to me! xo

  3. Maureen
    You never cease to amaze me with your insight! You continuously get me thinking in ways that never entered my mind. This post is another perfect example….so true…we put too much emphasis on what is expected of us and not enough time into who we want to (and should) be.
    I have been following a new path in life-inspired by you-and it is incredible how much more aware I have become of my surroundings. I no longer think of myself as Sharon, Maureen’s 54 year old sister. I am Sharon, Maureen’s friend for life!!!
    Our relationship is based on our ability to connect and understand one another.
    Keep Inspiring!!!!!!

    • I love you, Sharon – and I love how our relationship has evolved over time… I have always loved and ‘looked up to’ my big sister – thanks for being an unconditional friend – someone I know I can always count on –
      n o m a t t e r w h a t!

  4. Maureen- thank you so much for this post. I have struggled with my weight for as long as I can remember. I’ve always been stuck on the number on the scale or the number of calories and have made myself crazy. I finally decided earlier this year to fill my body with healthy wholesome foods, listen to hunger cues (not eating for emotional purposes!), and just be active. I know that I’ve lost weight but I’m really just happy to be feeling healthy. I want to be a positive example for my daughter. It’s still something I am working at but reading material such as this always helps. Thank you 🙂

    • Chelsea,
      Thank you so much for sharing. I think it’s a common thread for women to struggle with the number on the scale – and I’m happy that you shared what you did about eating healthy wholesome foods, etc… that is so much more important.
      Been thinking of you and hope to see you and Lou soon!
      xo

  5. Societal expectations are huge; we are exposed to them since early childhood and blasted in our teen years with air-brushed anorexics and “happy” wall street brokers. The media has so much to do with our unreasonable expectations and dreams of what success is. Schools don’t offer the syllabus I would like taught to kids today. Subjects like happiness, how to cultivate it; financial freedom:it’s got little to do with the size of your paycheck; pay it forward – it will return to you 10 fold, etc. Excellent post and right on observation. Great food for thought for so many!! I love your style. 🙂

    • Joan – I, too, would love to see that syllabus…. because if children learn about those subjects earlier, they would not be so consumed with what others think. They would be more likely to figure out what THEY love earlier in their life and be more successful with pursuing a track based on that – and not expectations of others. Thanks for your comments and for saying you love my style….’ppreciate it! 🙂

  6. Hi Maureen, As an aspiring blogger and writer myself, I know what a challenge writing can be and how hung up we can all get on the numbers. This post is beautifully written and organized and insightful. There are 3 adjectives for ya. You are inspiring, humble, talented and compassionate. There’s 4. I too, get caught up in the popularity contest of numbers; blog stats, number of students in class, number of people reading the newsletter, etc. At the end of the day, I ask myself, “Mimi, are you happy? Do you and your family have what you need? Is your life full of joy, love and light?” My answer is always yes regardless of numbers. Thanks for making me think about something in a new and fresh way. I am grateful for your blog and for you! Peace, Mimi

    • Mimi,
      I was thinking about you last night and how many people (not that I’m actually counting them:-)) have been inspired by you and your teachings. I started to think of it last night because I was thinking about some of the students who have graduated from my teacher training program and all the people they are now teaching and sharing yoga with. So that naturally made me think of you, Kathy and Beryl (my three beautiful teachers). I still remember, vividly, my first workshop with Beryl- at the place behind your Rye studio – Kathy came too…. that weekend was so inspiring that I began my hour long weekly travels (at least 2x per week at the beginning) to your studio to practice and learn from you – then I began the O2 TT. And when I decided to start my TT program – I c o u l d n o t have done it without you and Kathy – so the gratefulness – right back at ya. Love you.

Leave a Reply

