Donations for the second half of 2011

Though I have not been great about posting where I have donated for 2011…. I have done it… so here are a few of the organizations that I donated to in the second half of the year.

Wounded Warrior Project – my friend, Joe, informed me about this great organization.  Their mission is:  to foster the most successful, well-adjusted generation of wounded service members in our nation’s history.

One Common Unity – a fellow Elephant Journal writer, HawaH, founded this organization whose mission is: to nurture sustainable, caring communities through innovative peace education services, arts initiatives and media programming.

WLNH’s Children Auction – my good friend, Sheryl, participated in this auction – as did my friend Susie and others from the Lakes Region in NH.  The Children’s Auction PubMania event, put on by Patrick’s Pub, raised an unbelievable $110,770. The Children’s Auction helps community organizations in the Central New Hampshire region.

I also gave gift cards and cash to individuals who I knew could benefit from that, people who are/were having a hard time during this challenging economic time affecting middle and lower class families.

Even if you cannot provide financial assistance to those in need, consider a way in which you can help someone who needs it – giving of your time in some way.

I’ll continue to give by way of money and my talents in 2012, but since I was not so good about posting about it in 2011, it’s likely I will not post about it in 2012 – unless it’s something that develops into a story/lesson more than the giving.

I have found that among its other benefits, giving liberates the soul of the giver.
~Maya Angelou

PEACE,
~Maureen

Leave a Reply

