You must do the thing you think you cannot do! Eleanor Roosevelt

Image

During the TIMBo training this past April this quote was included in one of the sessions we processed in small groups. In the group I was in (yay! group 2) the last line, ‘You must do the thing you think you cannot do’, was interpreted very differently. I remember being inspired by that line thinking – YES! I can do IT.  Others thought it was a more forceful statement implying they must do something even if they didn’t think they could or should.

Reading the entire quote, I think it also depends on how each of us think about fear and what it takes to overcome what we are afraid of and where we are in our ability to be have strength and courage.

I hope you find inspiration from Eleanor’s words of wisdom. Part of what I think she wanted us to take from this quote is that there are times when we really think we cannot get to the other side of fear and that in order to move forward we must think thoughts, and take action, that will move us in that direction or we will remain stuck.

Another quote I read on Facebook the other day that I think might help move us forward in times of discontent:  “Not to spoil the ending for you, but everything is going to be OK.”

 

Photo from my 2007 trip to Indian Rocks Beach, Florida.
Though I was WAY too skinny, I do really dig the sunset and the headstand so wanted to share.

Leave a Reply

